2018 Youth Alliance Awards 

Thank you to all nominees, nominators, sponsors and supporters of this event! We look forward to continuing to honor young volunteers in 2019.

Thursday, April 26, 2018
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
Appleton, Wis.

The Youth Alliance Awards presentation is one of Volunteer Fox Cities’ signature events and is the ONLY volunteer award & recognition program exclusive to young people under the age of 18.  The award program, started in 1994, seeks to recognize the spirit of volunteerism, as found in future leaders of our community, and to encourage young people and adults to take hold of that same spirit in their own lives.

All individuals and organizations throughout the Fox Cities are encouraged to nominate any youth or youth group who has demonstrated a commitment to helping others and has succeeded in positively impacting the lives of others. Of all nominations, one individual and one group is chosen to receive the The Fox Cities Youth Service Award in recognition of service to the  community.

Click the links below to read the names of 2018 Youth Alliance Award winners.





The nomination period for the 2018 Youth Alliance Awards is now closed. 

Award Ceremony:

  • All nominees will be recognized at the award ceremony at the Radisson Paper Valley Hotel on Thursday, April 26, 2018.
  • Of all nominations, one individual and one group is chosen to receive the The Fox Cities Youth Service Award in recognition of service to the Fox Cities community.
  • Specific information about the Award Ceremony will be sent to you (the nominator) and the nominee(s) before the event.

Eligibility of nominees:

  • Must be in grades 1 through 12.
  • A resident of the greater Fox Valley area.
  • Service must be that which benefits Fox Valley residents.  

Nominating Procedures:

  • Nomination must be filled out completely and submitted via the form below.
  • Individuals or groups may nominate more than one candidate and may nominate themselves.
  • In the event of a large group nomination, the group will be allowed up to 5 individuals to accept the award at the Awards ceremony.
  • The decision of the award panel will be final.

Selection Criteria:

While a key component of the program  is recognition of committed youth volunteers, the  Youth Service Award winner will be the individual and group who have performed outstanding volunteer service in their communities. The Youth Service Award recognizes such service by elementary, middle and high school aged volunteers.

  • NEED: Nominee contributed a needed service to the community.
  • INITIATIVE: Nominee started new programs, used new methods to solve problems, initiated activities.  Involvement of the nominee was active, not figurehead.
  • ACHIEVEMENT: Nominee accomplished or eclipsed desired results. Volunteering for several volunteer organizations would also constitute a high level of achievement.
  • IMPACT: The activity or service produced positive changes and provided an example for other groups, individuals or society as a whole.
  • TIME: Amount of time devoted to the activity was significant.
  • CHALLENGE: Nominee overcame barriers or challenges, such as limited resources, physical or developmental disability, commitments to other volunteer or school projects or public perceptions of the problem.

Questions or comments, please contact Kristin at Volunteer Fox Cities: 920-832-9360 or kristin@volunteerfoxcities.org.


INDIVIDUAL nominees:
Megan Altekruse
Claire Boldt
Braden Bunnow
Joanna Carman
Will Curran
Hailey Johnson
Trevor Kislewski
Emilei Klapka
Logan Kroes
Madalynn Lamers
Madeline McCormick
Joe Nicholson
Aidyn Reetz
Hannah Roehrig
Annika Rossebo
Olivia Van Hammond

The 2018 Individual Youth Alliance Awards winner is Hannah Roehrig. 

Hannah was nominated for her success as a volunteer with the Brillion FFA and Project Unify Chapters. As a sophomore student, Hannah led BHS in starting Project Unify. This group’s mission is to empower youth leaders to promote acceptance and respect for individuals with intellectual disabilities. In just three years Hannah has lead the group to being the largest Project Unify Chapter in the state! Hannah’s work with Project Unify has improved relationships of students with special needs and those without significantly in our school and community. As president she has helped guide our chapter to fundraise for Special Olympics, planned unified events, and even was featured on local television for her leadership regionally for Project Unify.

 As an FFA member, Hannah has been so willing to volunteer her talents in all situations. From serving snacks at the county fair to washing windows as part of our Labor Auction, Hannah does every task with a gleeful smile and heartfelt of giving. This year, Hannah brought her passions of working with students with special needs and education to put on the first Ag Day Camp. This is a day camp for kids in the Brillion Community to feel accepted and able to learn more about the growing agricultural industry. The camp will take place later this spring, but the progress of this event’s success is because of the guidance and determination to provide for all students that Hannah has. As Hannah goes on to Wisconsin Lutheran College in Milwaukee, the impact she has had on her school and community will be the legacy that she will leave with each and every staff, student, and community member.

GROUP nominees:

Appleton East DECA
Appleton East High School Key Club – Eliza Carman, Joanna Carman
Appleton East PEERS/ TATU
Asha Keck, Rosa Keck
Claire Rettler, Lucy Morris, Josh Agius
Freedom High School
Isaiha Howard, Anthony Ramirez
Velocity Academy
Winneconne National Honors Society

The 2018 Group Youth Alliance Awards winner is Claire Rettler, Lucy Morris, and Josh Agius. 

Claire Rettler, Lucy Morris (not pictured: Josh Agius)

Claire, Lucy, and Josh are students at Appleton North High School and members of Appleton North’s DECA Chapter. In 2017, they created the ReThink campaign. Through the ReThink Campaign, Claire, Lucy, and Josh challenged their peers to “rethink” common misconceptions about homelessness and inspired others to give back and make a difference in the lives of those in need. In addition to generating awareness among their peers and throughout the community, the DECA group helped address Homeless Connections’ need for a curriculum that would be effective in engaging students, while educating them on homelessness – whether they need help or want to help.

 The DECA group put together a plan for their ReThink campaign that included volunteer projects, educational experiences, and fundraising opportunities that combined events and media, all focused on the discussion around homelessness and poverty in the Fox Cities. Claire, Lucy, and Josh are passionate advocates in understanding and ending homelessness in their community, and they have shared this passion with their student peers and the community at large.